Hello from mid-2017!

Missed me?

First of all, I’d like to apologize for the huuuuuuuuuuge gap between the posts that I’ve been putting up recently. I’ve had one hell of a semester. Literally. If you could harness all the stress and anxiety that was coursing through my mind and body, you’d have enough power to destroy the planet, with a little left for future use. But I know all this stress and work is a part of life, for character development, blah blah blah, which brings me to some good news!

I’m done with my Master’s! That’s right, bow down peasants. I’m officially smarter than half the world’s population. My graduation’s in a month, but I’m done with all the uni work- my project, my thesis and presentation, and what’s more, my paper’s been accepted to this super cool conference in September! I got through two years with my sanity still intact, and how! I’m currently jobless, like literally and figuratively. Taking a small break before I dive into the vast abyss that is job-searching. Fingers crossed I get a good job!

So last month one of my closest friend of 18 years got married, and my, what a wedding! Before I get ahead, she’s the first one in our “gang” to get hitched, and so it felt surreal to all of us, till it finally hit us when we saw her walking down the aisle. We threw her a memorable bachelorette party, that consisted of everything that a hen party MUST consist of. If you guys follow me on Instagram, you’d have seen your timeline fill up with pictures of pretty girls, in gorgeous dresses, in various states of a night gone wild. It’s a post that will be written in the near future.

Now, do you know why I’m awesome? The whole engagement-bachelorette-wedding took place around the time of my final project presentation-thesis submission. Which means, I was preparing my PowerPoint presentation while doing my hair and nails. I was going through key points of my project while holding down my alcohol. I was completing my Master’s thesis after a full night of dancing at the reception party. Throw me my cape and call me Superwoman. Or Wonder Woman. It did lead to a lot of sleepless nights, juggling between fluffy handcuffs for the hen party to formatting the headings and the page numbers on my thesis. But I managed it like a boss and here we are.

Let’s get to the main part of my Mid-2017 rant now, shall we?

On the 1st of January, 2016, I started my journey towards becoming healthier and fit. OK, that was dramatic. What I meant was I started working out and eating clean. Suffice to say, I see quite satisfying results, if I do say so myself. Here you go:

16585311_169951810172408_254067291451293696_n

Left: Sometime in 2016. right: February 2017. Will update on more progress soon!

And guess what? No gym. That’s right, I worked out at home. No weights, no equipment. Just my body and the glorious masters, that are the YouTube fitness videos.

That’s how I kept sane during the course of my Master’s. By sweating it out. Now this particular topic is a post in and of itself, but which I’ll surely be writing about in the days to come.

Another way I kept from going absolutely mental is by illustrating. I’m sure some of you guys have read the post “I’m an Illustrator Now”, but I’ve improved since then. Here’s a recent one:

The remaining are all stocked up on my Instagram profile if you want to check them all out!

Also, I just got back from a refreshing weekend at Calicut, Kerala. Again, another post for ya’ll to watch out.

AAAAAAAAAND I GOT A SECOND TATTOO! (New post, again. I promise!)

With the promise of numerous posts, I am now under severe burden to write and post them all soon, what with my throat on the line, my throat being my skills as a blogger. But fret not! I am not a student anymore (HA HA to all the students), I don’t have assignments and exams anymore (HA HA again), so by bidding adieu to that phase of life, and before entering the horrifying void of Adulthood, I have some time to get tip-tapping the night away, on my laptop that is.

Until then, have a wonderful August folks. Enjoy the fall season, with your Halloween and pumpkin spice lattes and all the festivities that a brown person like me just cannot fathom.

Cheers,

WBG :)x

22 thoughts on “Hello from mid-2017!

  1. righteousbruin9 says:

    A million congrats, and if you are so inclined, consider bringing your credentials and accumulated knowledge to the States, where, in many areas, teachers are in short supply, and spirited, effervescent teachers-even more so. Of course, we can always use engineers, physicists and world-class economists. So, whatever your area of expertise, the world ought to be your pearl.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rebbit7 says:

    Congratulations on finishing your Master’s! I’ll be wrapping up mine towards the end of this year. You’ll have to keep us updated on your adulting life, and I’d love to hear about your second tattoo! I can never fathom why PSL are such a huge thing; personally, I find them tasteless. Enjoy your August, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Samantha says:

    Congratulations on graduating!! Very awesome achievement, you have the right to be proud (and laugh at all the other students, indeed. Muahaha).

    And: you look great! Seems like all the hard work you put in really paid of, both for your study and your health! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bloggeray says:

    This post demands a series of congratulations to you. So, congrats, congrats, congrats!
    Post-studies is a phase that might feel disappointing to you, for a while, but adulthood (as you call it) has its own charm.
    I hope many people will be able to take inspiration from your exam time-multitasking and your weight loss regimen. Kudos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

