Let’s Have A Cuppa! – #2

pic

On the 2nd episode of Let’s Have A Cuppa!, we have the beautiful Victoria, with her story that definitely leaves you pondering about the different people that we meet in our lives! Ready?

Let’s go!


Victoria from To Whom It May Concern:

(Instagram: @vickylu1)

Displaying FullSizeRender.jpg

I’m ridiculously paranoid. I’m one of those people that constantly fabricate situations in their head and think of the worst possible outcomes. Seriously, if I hear even the slightest noise at night, I will assume that it is one of those clowns trying to break into my apartment and murder me. Call me dramatic; I am not ashamed. So knowing this, you probably wouldn’t believe me if I said I moved to a new city and met someone through Tinder. Alone.

On June 8, 2016, I had just finished an interview for a new job in a hospital about 3 hours from where I lived, and I was casually swiping through on Tinder in my hotel room. Left, left, left, left, right, left, left… etc. I’d always been skeptical about using Tinder because it meant I would be meeting strangers through an app that anyone could download (murderers included). As I was swiping on my phone, I stumbled across a guy named Dennis who had Super Liked me. For those of you who aren’t familiar with the app, everyone gets one chance to “Super Like” someone per day. Supposedly it increases your chances of getting liked back by that specific person, but I have definitely swiped left on loads of people who have Super Liked me. Anyway, I went through his pictures, and to be honest, I didn’t find him to be very cute, but his short bio said that he studied Neuroscience in college in California. It sounded pretty impressive to me, so I decided to give him a chance and swiped right. And from that moment, things took off in a way I never thought was possible. There was something about his personality and way of texting that I was immediately drawn to. His humor reminded me a lot of my own, and personally, I think I’m hilarious.

So here’s a little background about me. I’m 22 years old, born and raised in Louisiana, and until this past summer, I have only had one boyfriend, and that took place three years ago during the summer of 2013. Not to mention that it only lasted 2 months. After a series of dating with no positive outcomes, I was starting to lose hope and kind of got used to the idea that maybe I was simply meant to be single forever with only a dog as a companion. But when I first started talking to Dennis, it was weird: I instantly knew I had found someone special.

Getting back on track, I was offered the job near the middle of June, but I wasn’t due to move until the second week of July, so we texted every single day the rest of June and into the beginning of July. I asked him what his favorite type of bread was, what his favorite Pokémon was (hey, we’re Asian), what he liked to do in his spare time — you name it. I discovered he had just joined the Air Force in January, and he was currently in Air Force tech school until August 31, 2016. After he graduated from there, he would be based in Italy. I started missing him before I had even met him.

Despite the fact that we knew our relationship would come to an end, we met on July 6, 2016, and it was amazing. Well… okay, it was just a tad bit awkward at first. We went to a restaurant called Mugshots (romantic, right?), and I watched him eat a burger stuffed with mushrooms while he got to see me sip on a vanilla milkshake. He was my first ever (and still to this date only) Tinder date, and it wasn’t weird or creepy like I thought it would be. It was like any other first date: slightly uncomfortable but nonetheless exciting.

We dated for the next seven weeks, and it was awesome. He was able to spend the weekend at my apartment almost every other week. We cooked deliciously average food together, laughed at all of my jokes (and a couple of his), and argued over what to watch on Netflix. We explored a new city together and our feelings for each other grew deeper. We lied on the beach at night. We went to movies with his friends. Despite having an expiration date on our relationship, we dated each other like we would have forever.

Unfortunately, we didn’t have forever. We said goodbye to each other in the airport on August 28, 2016. I hugged him tightly and almost started belting out “We Belong Together” by Mariah Carey, but I figured that might make him want to board his plane ASAP. After letting a few tears loose, eventually, we let each other go.

We continued talking just as friends for a couple of months after, but on October 15, 2016, we decided it was best if we stopped contact for a while until our feelings for each other are gone. So even though we aren’t together anymore, I still count my first Tinder experience as a success: I embraced an opportunity to open up my heart to someone, made memories I’ll always treasure, and definitely learned a heck of a lot about myself.

Thanks, Tinder.


Thank you so much Victoria for responding to this tiny little project! Thank you for sharing your story, I sincerely appreciate the effort!🙂 Guys, go follow her amazing blog and follow on IG as well🙂

If you want to share your story, check out: Let’s Have A Cuppa!

Until then,

Cheers!

WBG :)x

P.S: Some of you’ll are probably thinking that I’ve run out of ideas for blog posts due to me posting continuous segments of the Cuppa project. Well, for starters- I don’t ‘run out of ideas’, my mind’s always busy! You should see my drafts and my notes. Lol. I would like to apologize since I’m in the middle of completing my semester assignments and exams. So, all I ask is for your patience. A teensy bit. I have fun things coming up. You’ll be rewarded.

That’s all 🙂

12 thoughts on “Let’s Have A Cuppa! – #2

Leave a Reply

