“Girls, Boys like it when..” How about N.O.

“Girls! Boys like it when you do the thing that you really hate doing!”

“Here are 10 ways to utterly change yourself to snatch the man of your dreams!”

“Must-try ridiculous concoctions for the female body to attract the male species!”

“Ladies! Be yourself! Love yourself! No, not your way, follow our way to do it!”

You guys must have seen these headlines or titles in many fashion magazines, so let me start with a different example:

So I’m on this social media site, just chilling and scrolling, when I come upon certain posts like:

Image result for 9gag boys dont like it when girls wear septum rings

Source: 9gag

Image result for 9gag boys dont like fake nails

Source: Uber Humor

There are many more posts, with some people complaining about women wearing too much make-up or having tattoos all over their body makes them ugly, like, WHAT IS THE MATTER WITH PEOPLE?

Ever heard of personal taste? Or, how about the phrase “my life, I do what I want”?

Not only are we women a target for body-shaming, but now we can’t do what we like without the validation of a bunch of people who’ve probably never been out of their rooms, much less with their hands out their pants.

When will men, women, and all the fashion magazines realize that we do all this FOR OURSELVES? Women apply makeup, colour their hair, get piercings and tattoos, ride bikes, cuss out loud, not to appeal to the male species but rather because THEY LIKE TO DO IT? If that were the case, then the whole world would turn into a mating ground all year round!

To the magazines: Women don’t care what men think are hot or not. Give us a sale on all those pretty clothes and we’re on board!

To the men: Not everything a women does is to attract your attention.

To the women: The hate that I see from a woman saddens me because in this current society, we need each other’s support and empowerment more than ever. What’s worse is that the hate stems from the fact that some women think we do what we do for the men. Rather than taking each other down, lift each other up and show them who’s boss!

And to the people who’ve been bullied or laughed at for all that I’ve mentioned above: Keep doing it! Don’t let some sad hater ruin your day. Just say “whatever” and work it!

Another note: As 2016 seems to be the year where everyone gets offended easily, here are two things:

  1. If you think I’m being sexist for making this post women-specific, well, too bad. I am a women/lady/girl/female/I-have-boobs. I’ve seen and heard enough of the above mentioned hate and jabs myself, with some directed towards people I know, a good number of times. And this is my blog. Do the math. If you want to rant from a man’s POV, by all means, do it! Make a post and I’ll be sure to check it out and give you a thumbs-up! 😀
  2. Before any special snowflakes comment, I mentioned “some” people, and not “all”.

Quite a short one, but a rant is a rant!

Have a good week folks!

Cheers,

WBG :)x

 

 

73 thoughts on ““Girls, Boys like it when..” How about N.O.

  1. intrudesite says:

    WOW !!!!!! Loved it !
    You took it right out of the hearts of many women.
    Cheers ! Felt so good to hear from a soul sister……
    This world needs many more women like you …..
    I would be damn proud of this post if I were you ………..Awesome. Inspiring……
    You ROCK …..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. bloggeray says:

    Well, such are the times and such is the fashion industry. I remember actresses Mo’nique and Octavia Spencer being made fun of by the fashion mags some 4-5 years back because of their size. And here in India, people term dusky/dark skin as unfair.

    That “mating ground” line was hilarious. And yes, its your blog. We all have free speech. And you made pretty good use of it.

    Have a good day. 😊

    Liked by 2 people

  3. LG says:

    I am on the other end of the spectrum. I don’t like dressing up. Not that I am capable even if I liked to. Give me a loose salwar, bathroom chappals and oiled braid, and a laptop to work on, I am in heaven. On the rare occasions that I do dress up, I mess up big time – I can’t wear make up well, I can’t tie a saree with oomph. and I have the homely (as in not “ugly” but the “everyone’s-mother-issque” look that is hardly glamorous.
    You have no idea how much I am shamed. “you know you have to dress well for ‘other people'”, “just look at so-and-so- how elegant she is”, “you are going out in THAT?”? It used to bother me until recently. Now I merely show them the finger in my head – F-them. I AM.
    The moral of my long comment is that no matter what a woman does, she is commented upon. I haven’t seen too many people comment on any man. My husband, for example, can potter around in faded sweatpants and ragged t-shirt, but nada. Drives me crazy.
    Ah, the joy of ranting.

    Liked by 4 people

    • That Weird Brown Girl says:

      You’re talking to a very stubborn, hot-headed tomboy so trust me when I say, I know EXACTLY how you are and how you feel! 🙂 I hated anything even remotely girly! I’ve been criticised a lot for that (except for my parents and friends, bless them) but I didn’t give one flying fuck 🙂
      I’ve only just gotten into clothes now (puberty at 23, sigh) so it’s opened my eyes to the fact that every single one of us face this!
      But you don’t care so that’s a big high-five 😀 and respect 🙂

      Like

  4. Marie says:

    Here, Here! Very well put! They can fly a kite! With all these “suggestions” for how women should love themselves or find a mate its no wonder that some of us struggle with self worth and value.

    How we teach women to find that weird, random thing that we each have and nurture that! Like calls to like right? Well if you should choose to find a “like”, you won’t find your matching “like” by conforming to other people’s “like”!
    Ugh. Ok mini rant on your rant is done Haha. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Melanie Noell Bernard says:

    This is great! There are reasons why I avoid the media nowadays and this is one of them: their constant spam of what’s pretty and what’s not. You know what, media? Screw you! I don’t want to be a carbon-copy of every other woman out there. I have never wanted to look like everyone else. I am me and that is good enough for me.

    p.s. tattoos rock! And I get them for myself. So, I don’t care what anyone (man or woman) says about them because they can just walk away.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That Weird Brown Girl says:

      Couldn’t have said it better myself! Love your enthusiasm! 😀 This makes me more hopeful in the search of good people who don’t jump onto the hate-wagon!
      Omg I love tattoos too! I’ve been saving up to get my first one 🙂 probably after Christmas 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Melanie Noell Bernard says:

        Haha! Hate-wagon. :p Nah! I definitely don’t ride on one of those. I prefer a sports car. :p
        But I don’t see the need to hate someone for something they can’t control: i.e. how they look. Rather, I worry more about the way someone acts because you can be the prettiest girl in the world, but if you’re a jerk, I don’t care about you.

        I love my tattoo! I have four more planned, too. They’re very addicting once you get one.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. gettingthroughanxiety says:

    This is a great post! What gets me about those articles is that one thing will say, for example, that men prefer women who don’t wear makeup and then another will say the exact opposite. It’s much easier and better to just do what you want as the woman and try not to worry too much about what guys will like. If they don’t like you for who you are, what’s the point?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Missconception says:

    Girl, I thought I was the only one who got annoyed about this. EVERYTHING is put under scrutiny and question, why should it be up to someone else how i decide to wear my hair, what i put on my face, wear my nails etc. and its even sadder to see that girls aspire to be someone else’s definition of ‘beauty’ for these very reasons.

    Anyway, thank you for putting it out there. Great read. xx

    Liked by 2 people

    • That Weird Brown Girl says:

      As you can see from the comments, you’re not alone 🙂
      Seriously though, the whole conformity is fine, but the problem begins when women flock into the pen and get brainwashed about all of this. And in an age where what the media spews is easily swallowed by millions, this doesn’t go unnoticed.
      Anyhoo, thanks for reading! 🙂 hopefully, this gets shared to the right people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

