Books I’ve read so far in 2016!

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-25-19

2016 was, and still is, the perfect year in terms of my TBR list.

Let me just say, as an engineering student, in her final year at grad school, carving out the time to read a book is pretty hard. And I say “pretty hard” while gritting my teeth and my palms tightened into fists.

Let me give you guys a low down on when I get the time to read: Around 6 AM in the loo while getting ready for uni, at night before I doze off, and a few hours in the weekends. Back in school, I used to stay up all night to finish a book. This is what I have transitioned to. But that’s not to say that I don’t stay up all night to complete a novel, I still do, but very rarely.

I decided that this year, I would check off a few books from my TBR list, and with the excruciating time constraint, this is what I’ve achieved:

(BTW, I apologize in advance for my insane face and bad photography skills! I wanted to do something different, so rather than taking pictures from the internet, here are pictures of me with said books!)

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-21-04

  1. The Godfather, by Mario Puzo

It was everything that I’ve ever expected it to be. I had high expectations, and luckily, they were met. I was hooked from the first chapter, and I wasn’t able to put it down.

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-21-24

2. Silmarillion, by J. R. R. Tolkien

I screamed when I FINALLY got this book. As a medieval fantasy fan, this book is the ultimate story, the First Book, that I’ve been dying to read since forever. It was breath-taking, told with a beautiful mastery that only Tolkien could ever accomplish. Also, the Greek tragedy that is the life of the children of Hurin was mind-blowing! My favourite stories were the story of Beren and Luthien, and of Turin Turambar. What about you?

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-22-53

3. Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell

Funny thing, I was going through a kpop phase while reading this book, and I was immediately attracted to Park. Weird. What do you think were the 3 words that Eleanor wrote to Park?

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-17-48

4. Career of Evil, by Robert Galbraith

Lightning Strike is just too cool for us. This book just goes to show why J. K. Rowling is still the Queen, and her foray into the world of crime/thriller just keeps getting better and better with every new book in this fantastic series!

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-22-07

5. Name of The Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

C’est Magnifique. Again, being a fantasy fan, this book was like a dose of heroin after many months of withdrawal. It had everything that I’ve ever hoped for.

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-20-07

6. Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell

I am officially in love with the quirky characters that Rainbow Rowell creates. This was such a cute book and the character Levi was an absolute delight to come upon! I’m in love with the way he calls Cath “Cather”, which is just too adorable!

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-22-27

7. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

Finally read this highly recommended book and it was quite a read.

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-18-49

8. And the Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini

Just like his previous books, Hosseini has a way of making even the most stone-cold person to weep using his words. This book was one emotional ride.

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-20-31

9. All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

Other than the amazing story, Doerr had a way of expressing his words in a very poetic manner. There was a certain rhythm in every chapter that you can only feel if you’ve ever read this book.

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-21-44

10. The Green Mile, by Stephen King

I cried. The only ever time I cried was when Sirius, Dumbledore and Dobby died, so thank you, Stephen King, for this wonderful masterpiece. This is officially my favourite King novel, so far.

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-18-22

11. The Shining, by Stephen King

Perceiving horror through the eyes of an innocent child is mortifying, and this book justifies that!

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-19-41

12. The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

This book makes me want to forget everything and experience every little thing that entices our thoughts, with the exception of the ever demanding debate of our soul. That dampens the party quite a bit, doesn’t it?

Screenshot_2016-09-02-18-19-15

13. The Giver, by Lois Lowry

What do you guys think happened to Jonas and the baby in the end?

Well, there you go! Not a bad number, eh? I want to know if you guys have read any of these books and what you think about them!

(Kind of regretting the pictures, but oh well)

Cheers,

WBG :)x

42 thoughts on “Books I’ve read so far in 2016!

  1. rambling kori says:

    Awesome post, The Godfather, by Mario Puzo is a book I want to read. Out of your list I have read The Shining, To Kill a Mockingbird, and The Giver. The rest of the books seem interesting and will be added to my Goodreads list. Also, I like how you took pictures with the books, very nice!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. theemixtapejournal says:

    I’ve only read one of the books you’ve read this year, ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ and you’re spot on with the feelings it evokes after reading. I really want/need to read ‘To kill A Mockingbird’.
    School is also my number one reason for not reading as many books as I’d like but I still try really hard to find time, I’m such a huge fan of reading and books that I feel very very incomplete and uneasy if I haven’t read one in say 2 months.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. amcmulin914 says:

    Great reading list, had to add a couple to my own. Recently just finished “Silmarillion” myself, that is quite an accomplishment in itself. What’s really cool about that book is like how you pointed out, it has this Greek-Mythological element to it, that harkens back to other traditions and concepts. There is a lot of occulted Gnostic knowledge in all that which is pretty amazing!

    I got to check out “Career of Evil”, and “And the Mountains echoed”, both those sounded great. I’d forgotten that Rowling had published under a pseudonym. Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Varsh says:

    The Godfather is an all-time favourite. ☺
    Great checked-out list! This should give me the impetus to get back to reading with a vengeance.
    I liked the pics btw. Your wide-eyed quirky look was adorable. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  5. N. says:

    Wow that’s quite an impressive list you managed to get through this year! Making time to read is tough but it’s always worth it when you can manage it 🙂 My toddler refuses to let me read anything while she’s awake and I’m too exhausted to read after she goes to bed so I’ve taken to reading e-books. It’s honestly not the same thing and I miss the feel of real books in my hands!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That Weird Brown Girl says:

      I don’t even know how I managed, to be honest! I try to read whenever I can, even if it’s just for five minutes or while in the bus, something like that! Aww, how old is she? 🙂
      There’s something about holding a book, the feel, the smell, that can never be mimicked by a kindle. But at least you can read with it, right? That’s what counts!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. thestubbornhippocrite says:

    I read The Picture of Dorian Gray during my first year in college and I must say, it changed the way I viewed people! HAHAHAHA It casts so much look into humanity and what-not.

    Hiiii Pooja 😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

