Nobody likes you when you’re 23!

So, I’m turning 23 tomorrow, the 21st of April (a big WOOT!), and before we get into the festivities of that beautiful day of the year, I’ve gathered quite a few quotes or observations or one-liners from a few people to describe how exactly it was to transition into an age which people consider to be “quite a weird” age. Here they are-

“It’s a weird age…or rather, a weird time in your life”

There’s no Taylor Swift song about it, so how good can it even be?”

Nothing’s changed. Thought there’d be changes, you know, big ones, but it’s like any other age”

We’re at the bottom of adulthood, but at the height of teenagehood”

23 is when you’re neither an adult nor a teenager, but also, when you’re an adult and a teenager”

You have the brains of Squidward, but the heart of Spongebob!”

and of course, the inevitable,-

23? What?! Sorry, I’m 21! 21 FOREVER!”

Yeeeeeeeeah.

What I pretty much figured out from all of this is that, 23 is an age where you’re stuck with both the teenagehood, and adulthood, but in a transitional way.

Ok, imagine yourself in a running pose. Your upper half is leaning forward, right, along with one of your hands, and a leg. That’s the part of you that’s in adulthood. Whereas, your lower half, and the remaining hand and leg, are stuck in teenagehood. But the complexity of this beautiful imagery that I created is that, you’ve got to do your part in both the “-hoods”. So, basically you either, and neither, belong to both of that region. Ugh, how exhausting was that?

Also, it’s a very confusing time as well. I say this because at this age, everyone’s doing completely different things! Half of us are working and earning, while the other half are either busy with grad school, or with new startup ideas, or basically, experimenting a lot with hardly the resources that we need. Along with this, a mere 1% are busy getting hitched. IT IS AN ABSOLUTELY CHAOTIC ERA.

Or maybe everyone (Or just me and a few of you) is making a big deal out of this because we expected things to happen? Maybe? Or it wasn’t what we were expecting at all? Or, maybe, just like every single year, we expect huge changes to happen when we turn the BIG WHATEVER-AGE!

Or maybe I’m just wondering about why I haven’t been in a serious relationship yet, and I’m ALREADY 23! Le gasp!

Haha Kidding, it’s not a big deal, I know the reason why- Because I’m totally arrogant and fabulous. Duh. And that’s probably going to intensify as the years go by. Sass level +100000!!!

What I’m also trying to convey is that, if you’re another 20-something weirdo, like me, who hasn’t completely figured shit out, I’m here to tell you, IT’S FINE DARLIN’! 🙂 When the time’s right you’ll know, when opportunities or circumstances come a-knockin’, you’ll know! Till then, just enjoy (also study if you’re in uni, because knowledge is P.O.W.E.R)

After all, you turning another year older just implies that you finished ANOTHER revolution around the sun! Now, THAT’S an achievement! 😀 You’re basically a planet! And I’m not sure why I said that, but planets are freakin’ awesomesauce!

Anyhoo,

Happy Birthday To Me, WBG a.k.a. Pooja 🙂

Cheers!

105 thoughts on “Nobody likes you when you’re 23!

  1. PorterGirl says:

    Try being 35! Honestly, the age thing gets easier with each passing year. Also – being a teenager ends when you turn 20 (the clue is in the name!) I hope you have a fabulous birthday tomorrow and that your 23rd year is everything you hoped it would be 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      • PorterGirl says:

        I thought I would die when I turned 30. But actually, things have got much easier since then! I might not be as pretty as I was at 23, but at 35 I don’t really care because I have so much more to offer the world. Everything I stressed about in my 20s is so much simpler now. I have gained confidence and self-assurance along with the extra pounds and laughter lines. Love every moment of it all!

        Liked by 3 people

      • Gryffindor Queen says:

        Wow that was assuring 😀 I’m going to keep that in mind and make all the cliched mistakes every 20-something does, because eventually, it’ll make me laugh, probably 😛

        Like

      • PorterGirl says:

        That’s exactly it! Make your mistakes now, learn from them and then laugh at them – many of them will make for great stories later on! And getting older doesn’t stop being fun – I can still rock n roll when the mood takes me. Priorities change, is all – get out there and enjoy your youth, beautiful young lady! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • Gryffindor Queen says:

        I’m just at the beginning of my “Mistakes” list and I’m so excited about the stupidity that’s yet to come! 😛 I’m taking your comment and storing it in the “assurance” section inside my brain! Thank you so much, porter girl 😁

        Like

  2. LG says:

    “,23 is an age where you’re stuck with both the teenagehood, and adulthood,”

    Really? I am way (WAY, WAY) older, and I am stuck with teenagehood and adulthood. Drives me nuts.
    Happy 23. The age to romance. Go full steam, girl.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. catalinasaurus says:

    I’m at the end of my 23 and I didn’t know it was a common weird vibe until I read this post.

    That whole teen-adult thing is pretty much the most accurate description of all time. Some day, we’ll be adultier adults, but today is not that day.

    Happy birthday!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. G.U.M says:

    Happy Birthday! My big sister’s birthday is also tomorrow. It’s a great day.

    This post made me appreciate being 23 even more, specifically the part about being in different places. I think we’re in an age range where we are put in a slightly bigger box.

    When you’re younger you’re expected to be a certain point (developmentally and grade wise) throughout elementary to high school. In college and right after you graduate there’s still a lot of pressure put on you to get be at a certain level at all times. I think around 22-24 some of the pressure is lifted and we’re allowed to sit for a many before 25 comes around the corner with brand new expectations.

    With that being said, I’m going to enjoy the rest of my 23 and I hope you do too!
    – Ja’Mei

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Moments in Our Lives says:

    Though there isn’t a Taylor Swift song, there definitely is an IU song!! (Which you can find here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5qJv_I7K6M.) IU is a South Korean artist, so the song is in Korean, but it has English subtitles that you can turn on. I find it very “relateable” for this period of young adult life. I was initially attracted to the music video because of its Alice in Wonderland theme. Best of luck to you and happy belated birthday!
    -BR

    Liked by 1 person

  6. theonlysup says:

    ah !! a lil late in noticing this post. belated wishes to you .. and yeah you create your own song . forget taylor swift.. enjoy the phase .. im sure your will discover many changes this year .. positive ones

    Liked by 1 person

  7. BunKaryudo says:

    Being 23 doesn’t sound that bad. I mean, the brains of Squidward, but the heart of Spongebob? I think that’s definitely better than the alternative. Anyway, I hope you had a great birthday. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

