The Wolf and the Rabbit Girl – Chiara Bautista

Hey guys! 🙂

So a few weeks back I was randomly surfing the net with no intention of completing my assignments (hear, hear) and I stumbled upon a piece of artwork which was so beautiful. It was breathtaking. To be honest, I’ve never really been interested in Art. I’m not one of those who stand in front of a painting and go “Yes…yes..I love how the strokes depict this or that..etc”. I do love to sketch or doodle from time to time but I’m not an art-lover nor am I a masterpiece-enthusiast.

But then when I saw the above mentioned picture, I was in awe and kind of shocked. Shocked because it looked as though the picture seemed to be struggling to portray something. I know all pictures do that, but this one seemed different. There was a certain musical quality about it. The artist seemed to have infused a story, along with music, into the picture.

Here’s the strip:

10537959_789676771085178_7223944780600342877_o

From what I could make out, the Wolf is some sorta grim reaper, leading the souls, the bunnies, who have died in the car crash and the Rabbit Girl is an angel who takes pity on one soul and saves it, giving it back life, and the survivor is the one with the teary eyes.

Like, mind-blown. So I researched more online about the picture and I got to know that the artist is Chiara Bautista. She’s a very reclusive Mexican artist and most of her pictures have been inspired by her muse named Ilka. That’s either a fact or just plain speculation. But I checked out more of her artwork and I AM IN LOVE. I don’t know how but she gets it. All the questions one has about life and love and purpose, she puts it into her illustrations. Try combining a story, with thousands of words and expressions and thoughts and she puts it into one picture. It’s beautiful. It’s not like Pop art, more of a Surrealistic Pop art. She incorporates animals and mythical creatures in most of her pieces. Kind of like Tim Burton on ecstasy 🙂

I think my favourite has to be the stories of the Wolf and the Rabbit Girl (as it turns out, they happen to be in love). Life and Death, balancing each other out 🙂

Do check her out you guys 🙂

Cheers, WBG :)x

P.S.:Here are some of her awesomesauce artworks! 🙂

f076756a9473369825e8b189ae780555   tumblr_neugwbCYIf1r4qtano1_500

5495374+_38f0bebd361f86f56b597027600fae57 chiara-bautista-art-illustration-2

686c88df67a32aa1f8cc59c96b14c28a tumblr_mz0f6yBvav1rler2io3_500

49 thoughts on “The Wolf and the Rabbit Girl – Chiara Bautista

  1. sabinafelice says:

    Hey, thank you for following my blog 🙂 I love Chiara Bautista as well! I did a couple of poems based on her artwork some months ago. Anyway, I’m looking forward to seeing what else you write about on your blog :))

    Like

  2. gingersecretservice says:

    Hi 🙂
    Thank you for following me. I immediately regretted that my blog is in Turkish and you won’t be able to read.. But i love Chiara. Her work is a mass of feelings; so warm, sad and proud. I’ve found my own stories in her. Also my own feelings..

    Like

    • gryffindorqueen says:

      Hey 🙂 let me just say a big thank you for reading the post and commenting 🙂 and awww, don’t feel bad! Maybe you could write a post in English now and then 🙂 or I’ll just use Google translate, simple! And wow I can see how Bautista inspires you, it’s understandable 🙂

      Like

  3. arlainash says:

    Hi. I found this through a Google search. A facebook friend posted some of Chiara’s work, and I love it, especially Finders Keepers, which reminds me of my own lost wolf. I will follow you. Unfortunately I don’t have much on my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Tjasa says:

    Hello 🙂 I also love Chiara I think she is amazing! I was wondering if someone could explain me her art where rabbit girl is making a red sweater for starwolf? How do you see it? Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • gryffindorqueen says:

      Hey! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 hmmm well maybe the sweater could be her way of showing how much she loves the wolf? You know, bc sweater provides warmth and comfort, and isn’t that what love is? 🙂

      Like

  5. Tjasa says:

    Yes of course it’s about how much love she can offer to him, but I also see it as transforming the wolf into some kind of graceful and loving animal. You know like maybe with her love he isn’t the beast anymore like she helped him transform with her love? I don’t know but I love it! And I like your blog too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

