JOHN GREEN, THE NERDFIGHTER.

tumblr_n3m3o8nIC11tvn4tko3_500

HEY GUYS! 🙂

So I had a long day today, and my exams are coming up, so what do I do? Start blogging! Anyways, I came up with an excuse to the fam to retire into my bat-cave for the night, with the excuse involving words like “study” and “grades” and my parents, being the brown parents they are, Bless them, focused on said words and bid adieu soon. So, I’m freshly showered, wearing my PJs, with a steaming cup of coffee, so let’s go! 🙂

John Green. I wanted to review this guy because A) his name’s being mentioned by almost 95% of the fangirls and B) I’m still not sure if I like him or not.

Before I start, I love all fandoms equally. The John Green fandom is kinda scary but I love you guys so spare me, alright? :):*

Let me start now 🙂

1) THE FAULT IN OUR STARS:  This book (or movie) needs no introduction. One of the biggest bestsellers last year and the movie was a hit. I generally prefer not to read romance but on Twitter, this book was creating waves. Not just a oh-this-is-a-good-book-must-read, oh no, it was rather a OHMYGODTHISBOOKDEMFEELSASDFGHJKL. Yes, that was a word used by one of my lovely fellow fangirls 🙂 And since my motto in life is “why the fuck not?”, I decided to read it. And I wasn’t disappointed. Good characters, pretty over-the-top personality for the main hero, romance and death (muahaha sadist alert), that book had almost everything. Oh and a good storyline too. But what I didn’t get was how matured Hazel and Gus were for their age. Maybe Green wanted them that way but hell, when I was 16, I don’t think I’ve met anyone who spoke the way these two did. My intellectual conversations started around 18, I think. Or Maybe I was really dumb then :). But all in all, I would give this book a 8 out of 10. So, If you haven’t read it, do read it and let your heart go BOOM CLAP! 🙂

My favorite quote (MFQ):

” You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you.”

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep. Slowly, then all at once.”

2) LOOKING FOR ALASKA:  If you think this book was similar or would be better than TFIOS, you’re in for a bad time. It has sex, booze, and suicidal triggers. Sounds like your typical teen horror movie or a music video for a punk/emo band. Why John, just why? Isn’t it bad enough that kids and teens these days are heavily influenced by TV and music videos, now you want to corrupt the minds of the ones that ACTUALLY read? Horrible storyline, the female lead was too messed up for my liking and well, I know that some of you’ll may relate to her and her issues, but I absolutely do not condone suicide. No. The only thing I liked about this book was, of course, Green’s quotes. I would give this book a 3 out of 10. Sorry JG fandom.

MFQ:

” I go to seek a Great Perhaps.”

3) PAPERTOWNS:  If I thought Alaska was horrible, Margo was…..just as bad. Look, in a way I get her character, and sometimes envy her spontaneity but, BUT, she was a brat. Like come on Margo, you have a house, you have a guy who likes you and all you’re worried about is why people don’t “get you”. Sigh, I know I know, I was a teenager once not too long ago and even I felt that people didn’t “get me”, but Margo why run away when you could have spoken to that poor dude? Anyways, this book wasn’t soooo bad, it was alright. Had a little bit of humour. And also the movie’s going to be out soon. I would give it a 6 out of 10.

MFQ:

” She loved mysteries so much that she became one.”

“All those paper people living in their paper houses. Burning their future to stay warm.”

4) AN ABUNDANCE OF KATHERINES:  Well, this book was refreshingly different. It had a different vibe to it. A smart guy getting dumped by THAT many girls, all named Katherine just makes for a good story! And oh, the female lead was not a brat, thank you Odin! She was pretty….normal, you could say. But what I loved most was Colin realizing the fact that he was smart but not a genius and his lust for wanting his very own Eureka moment. This was a good book. This one should’ve gotten more attention compared to LFA. I would give this one a 7 out of 10.

MFQ:

” Books are the ultimate dumpees. Put them down and they’ll wait for you forever. Pay attention to them and they always love you back.”

I haven’t read Will Grayson, Will Grayson yet but I will soon and then review that too!:)

So, that’s my briefing about what I think about John Green’s books. About him, well, I love the fact that he comes up with the best quotes! As a person who loves quotes, I agree that some of his dialogues bring out the inner teary fangirl in me 🙂 Also, that guy comes up with the best titles for his book! I don’t know about you guys, but I think one of the hardest parts of being an author is coming up with a catchy title. I mean he could’ve just titled “A sick love story” instead of “the fault in our stars”, Right? too far? Sorry (inappropriate jokes alert).

But the fact that Green gets the turmoils and the changes that are faced by teenagers all around the globe is to be much respected and that’s a bonus!

With this I conclude my post for today. Again, I love all fandoms equally so please don’t get offended 🙂

Do follow me and leave comments or feedbacks! 🙂 It is much appreciated! 🙂 I would also love to make new friends here (I’m not a creep :3).

If you guys want me to post anything and everything, do let me know 🙂

Cheers,

WBG :)x

18 thoughts on “JOHN GREEN, THE NERDFIGHTER.

  1. awayinneverland says:

    Aw I’m bummed you didn’t like Looking for Alaska, it’s my favorite John Green book. Although, I feel like it’s my favorite because it was the first book by him I ever read. A lot of people don’t enjoy it as much if they read TFIOS first.. Hope you enjoy Will Grayson, Will Grayson! It’s definitely different!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gryffindorqueen says:

      Aw sorry love :/ hope the post about LFA didn’t offend you! It’s just my opinion, as much as I love you nerdfighters 🙂 Anyways, looking forward to WGWG since its recommended by a lot of people! Have a nice day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elm says:

    WGWG is honestly a fantastic book, but for some reason I preferred David Levithan’s chapters over John Green’s… JG was still amazing though! TFIOS made me cry so much that I made myself ill

    Liked by 1 person

  3. @cf_fairfeld says:

    Woah. I DEFINITELY hope you’ve read WGWG, because… *runs out of words to say*
    Let’s just say that it totally changes your perspective. On pretty much every topic the book touches. :’)
    Yet to read Paper Towns and LFA, though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

